Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the recent passing of Maya Angelou I like many others I am sure, found myself reading her works again. As I did, the following poem grew, which I present here.

Often at the Last…

I see your future thoughts,
Your findings out,
Your dread of answers,
For questions…
Your hope for doubt…

I know your certainties,
I know they’ll fade…
I know because,
It is true,
I have come of age…

I know it,
I see you, in me son,
And through you,
I will see, further days…

Beyond the last flicker,
Beyond the need for flame.

So let me go son,
Remembering…
when you grasp,
I will be…
Forever, with you son,
Until you face…

What I now know,
This day, will last…
You and I together,
Have come,
In differing days,
Within our own personal mysteries
Have come of age…

____________________________________